2026 Honda CR-V vs 2026 Toyota RAV4: Full Comparison

The 2026 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid rates 48 MPG city versus the 2026 Honda CR-V Hybrid's 40 MPG city. The CR-V counters with 76.5 cu ft of max cargo versus the RAV4's 70.4 cu ft. This page breaks down every key difference so you can find the right one in Burleson Honda's inventory.

The Short Answer

The RAV4 Hybrid wins on fuel economy by a meaningful margin and brings a higher tow rating of 3,500 lbs versus the CR-V Hybrid's 1,000 lbs. The CR-V wins on cargo volume, interior space flexibility, and hybrid powertrain choice, offering four distinct hybrid trims including the TrailSport Hybrid and Sport Touring Hybrid. Buyers who commute daily and prioritize fuel savings lean toward the RAV4; buyers who haul gear, need more cabin room, or want more powertrain options lean toward the CR-V.

Specs Head-to-Head

Spec2026 Honda CR-V Hybrid2026 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid
Engine2.0L I-4 + Two Electric Motors2.5L I-4 + Two Motor-Generators
System Horsepower204 hp226 hp (FWD trims) / 236 hp (AWD trims)
EPA MPG (FWD/city-hwy-comb)43 / 36 / 4048 / 42 / 44
EPA MPG (AWD/city-hwy-comb)40 / 34 / 3743 / 37 / 41 (varies by trim)
Cargo behind 2nd row36.3 cu ft (hybrid trims)37.8 cu ft
Max cargo71.8 cu ft (hybrid trims)70.4 cu ft
Towing (hybrid)1,000 lbs3,500 lbs
Seating55
Length184.8 in181 in
Ground clearance8.2 in (AWD)8.1 in (most AWD trims); 8.5 in (Woodland)
Basic warranty3 yr / 36k mi3 yr / 36k mi
Hybrid battery warranty8 yr / 100k mi10 yr / 150k mi (transferable)

Performance and Powertrain

2026 Honda CR-V performance and hybrid powertrain

The RAV4 Hybrid produces more system horsepower, 226 hp on FWD trims and 236 hp on AWD trims, compared to the CR-V Hybrid's 204 hp system output. That extra power, combined with the RAV4's higher efficiency ratings, makes it the stronger performer on both highway fuel economy and acceleration feel.

The CR-V Hybrid's 2.0L naturally aspirated engine pairs with two electric motors through Honda's two-motor hybrid system. Hybrid trims offer four drive modes (Sport, Normal, Econ, Snow), while the Sport Touring Hybrid adds a fifth Individual mode. The CR-V gas trims (LX, EX, EX-L) use a 1.5L turbocharged engine producing 190 hp and 179 lb-ft of torque, routed through a CVT, rated at 28 city / 33 highway / 30 combined MPG.

The RAV4's 2.5L Dynamic Force engine is hybrid-only across the entire 2026 lineup. It uses an electronically controlled CVT and delivers class-leading efficiency in this segment. The RAV4 Woodland AWD trim reaches 8.5 inches of ground clearance versus the CR-V Hybrid AWD's 8.2 inches, a slight edge for mild off-road use.

For towing, the RAV4 Hybrid pulls 3,500 lbs. The CR-V Hybrid is rated at 1,000 lbs. Gas CR-V trims (LX, EX, EX-L) tow up to 1,500 lbs. If towing is a priority, the RAV4 wins clearly.

Interior, Space and Cargo

2026 Honda CR-V interior and cargo space

The CR-V is the longer vehicle at 184.8 inches versus the RAV4's 181 inches, and that extra length shows in cargo figures. Gas CR-V trims deliver 39.3 cu ft behind the second row and 76.5 cu ft maximum. Hybrid CR-V trims give up some volume due to battery packaging, at 36.3 cu ft behind the second row and 71.8 cu ft maximum. The RAV4 offers 37.8 cu ft behind the second row and 70.4 cu ft maximum.

The CR-V's 41.3 inches of front legroom and 41.0 inches of rear legroom compare closely to the RAV4's 41.0 inches front and 37.8 inches rear. The CR-V provides a noticeably more spacious second row for adult passengers.

On materials, the CR-V EX-L and Sport-L Hybrid include leather-trimmed seats with a 10-way power driver's seat and power lumbar support. The RAV4 XLE Premium offers SofTex-trimmed seats with an 8-way power driver's seat. Both provide heated front seats on mid and upper trims. The RAV4 Limited adds ventilated front seats and heated rear seats, features the CR-V does not offer on any trim.

Both vehicles include a programmable power tailgate on upper trims. The CR-V Sport Touring Hybrid adds hands-free access. The RAV4 Limited includes a hands-free power liftgate with a kick sensor.

Technology and Safety

2026 Honda CR-V technology and Honda Sensing safety features

Both vehicles include wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto standard on every trim. The CR-V pairs those with a 9-inch touchscreen and wireless Qi charging on every trim. The RAV4 comes standard with a 10.5-inch touchscreen (12.9-inch on upper trims) and a 12.3-inch digital gauge cluster on every trim. The CR-V's 10.2-inch digital instrument cluster is limited to EX-L and higher.

The RAV4 includes a built-in drive recorder dash cam standard, a feature the CR-V does not offer. The CR-V Sport Touring Hybrid includes Google built-in with Google Assistant, Google Maps, and a 3-year unlimited data plan, plus a 12-speaker Bose audio system. The RAV4 Limited includes a 9-speaker JBL system as part of a package.

On safety, both vehicles cover the core suite: forward collision warning with automatic emergency braking, adaptive cruise control, lane-keeping assist, automatic high beams, blind spot monitors, and rear cross-traffic alert. The CR-V adds Traffic Jam Assist standard on all trims. The RAV4 includes Proactive Drive Assist and a Driver Monitor as part of Toyota Safety Sense 4.0, features the CR-V does not match at this level. The RAV4 also includes a Tire Pressure Monitor System with direct individual tire pressure readout, which the CR-V's TPMS does not specify at that detail level.

Value and Ownership

Both vehicles carry a 3-year / 36,000-mile basic warranty and a 5-year / 60,000-mile powertrain warranty. The CR-V Hybrid battery warranty covers 8 years or 100,000 miles. The RAV4 hybrid battery warranty covers 10 years or 150,000 miles and is transferable to a subsequent owner, a meaningful edge for resale value.

The RAV4 includes a no-cost maintenance plan. The CR-V does not specify an equivalent program. Both include 24-hour roadside assistance.

The CR-V offers both gas and hybrid powertrains across seven total trims, giving buyers the option to start with a gas LX and move up to a Sport Touring Hybrid. The RAV4 is hybrid-only in 2026, with nine trims spanning FWD and AWD configurations.

Which One Should You Buy

Choose the 2026 Honda CR-V if

You want the highest cargo capacity in this comparison, a roomier second row, the option of a gas or hybrid powertrain, Google built-in connectivity on the top trim, or wireless charging standard from the base trim. The TrailSport Hybrid suits buyers who want a capable look with AWD without stepping into a truck-based SUV.

Choose the 2026 Toyota RAV4 if

You prioritize fuel efficiency above all else, need to tow up to 3,500 lbs, want a transferable 10-year hybrid battery warranty, or value the larger standard touchscreen and the built-in dash cam. The Woodland AWD trim with its all-terrain tires and 8.5 inches of ground clearance suits buyers who take their SUV off-pavement regularly.

See the 2026 CR-V at Burleson Honda

Burleson Honda carries the full 2026 CR-V lineup, from the gas LX to the Sport Touring Hybrid. Shoppers across Burleson and the surrounding area can browse current stock, compare trims side by side, and schedule a test drive today.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the 2026 Honda CR-V or the 2026 Toyota RAV4 get better gas mileage?

The 2026 RAV4 Hybrid gets better mileage, rated at 48 city / 42 highway / 44 combined MPG in FWD form versus the CR-V Hybrid's 43 city / 36 highway / 40 combined. The CR-V gas trims rate 28 city / 33 highway.

Which has more cargo space, the CR-V or the RAV4?

The CR-V has more maximum cargo space. Gas CR-V trims offer 76.5 cu ft maximum versus the RAV4's 70.4 cu ft. CR-V Hybrid trims offer 71.8 cu ft maximum, which still exceeds the RAV4.

Can the 2026 CR-V or RAV4 tow more?

The RAV4 Hybrid tows significantly more at 3,500 lbs. The CR-V Hybrid is rated at 1,000 lbs, and the CR-V gas trims tow up to 1,500 lbs.

Which has a longer hybrid battery warranty?

The RAV4 Hybrid battery warranty covers 10 years or 150,000 miles and is transferable. The CR-V Hybrid battery warranty covers 8 years or 100,000 miles.

Does the 2026 CR-V come with wireless Apple CarPlay?

Yes. Wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto are standard on every 2026 CR-V trim, including the base LX.

Which SUV has a bigger touchscreen?

The RAV4 uses a 10.5-inch standard touchscreen (12.9-inch on upper trims). The CR-V uses a 9-inch touchscreen standard across all trims.

Does the 2026 CR-V come in a hybrid?

Yes. Four hybrid trims are available: Sport Hybrid, TrailSport Hybrid, Sport-L Hybrid, and Sport Touring Hybrid, all using Honda's 2.0L two-motor hybrid system with 204 total system horsepower.

Is AWD available on the 2026 CR-V?

Yes. AWD is available on all CR-V trims. It is standard on the TrailSport Hybrid and Sport Touring Hybrid. FWD is standard on all other trims.